Class of 2023

Andrew Norris Beckwith □ Terrance Anthony Blackmon • + Fowler Branch Bolton • ◆ Natalie Rosemary Bowers • ▲ ◆ Samuel "Sam" McCrae Carpenter Charlie Jo "CJ" Childers * U) # ▲ ◆ •

Terry Joe "TJ" Cook

° '# ') '*

h ⁻U ⁻) h E g ⁻i ⁻



School of Architecture Recognition Day

May 11, 2023

Robert and Freda Harrison Auditorium Giles Hall

Opening Remarks – School of Architecture Welcome Dr. Karen Cordes Spence

2022-2023 Awards

Annual Allen & Hoshall Faculty Award

Recipient: Mark Vaughan Presented by: Director Karen Spence

The architectural firm of Allen & Hoshall of Jackson, Mississippi, has established a \$500 annual award to a faculty member "who has demonstrated excellence in teaching." The award winner is selected by the fifth-year graduating class.

Alpha Rho Chi (APX)

Chapter President: Sarah Mixon Faculty Advisor: Assoc. Professor Jacob Gines

Alpha Rho Chi is the only national co-ed professional/social fraternity for architecture and the allied arts. MSU's Hippodamus chapter includes members representing architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, and engineering.

Alpha Rho Chi Student Book Award

Recipient: Spurgeon Sanders

The APX student book award is given to a graduating fifth-year active member who has furthered the mission of the fraternity through service.

American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)

Chapter President: Summer Watson

Faculty Advisors: Assoc. Professor Alexis Gregory & Dr. Aaron White

The American Institute of Architecture Students is the student counterpart of the American Institute of Architects (AIA). The chapter works closely with professional architects in the state through the Mississippi Chapter of the AIA, who fund this award.

AIAS Member of the Year Book Award

Recipient: Jay Snodgrass

The recipient of the AIAS Award is chosen by the AIAS membership. The qualifications for this award are: "...that the student goes above and beyond what has been asked of him/her; has shown initiative and leadership qualities; has been an AIAS leader within his/her year level; and does well academically."

National Organization of Minority Architecture Students (NOMAS)

Chapter President: Alston Brown Faculty Advisors: Dr. Christopher S. Hunter Asst. Professor Silvina Lopez Barrera

The National Organization of Minority Architecture Students (NOMAS) is the student arm of the National Organization of Minority Architects (NOMA). Students participating seek to enhance the educational experience of its members by fostering diversity within the School of Architecture and the community at-large.

Southeast Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians

Alysia Williams

Alysia was selected to present a research paper at the SESAH Conference, which was held Nov. 2-5, 2022 in Memphis, Tennessee.

Association for Retired Faculty (ARF) William L. Giles Award for Excellence in Architecture

Elisa Castaneda

This \$500 award was established in 1997 in honor and memory of William Lincoln Giles, a charter member of ARF. It is given each year to a student selected by the School of Architecture on the basis of academic excellence and overall leadership within the school. Funding for the award comes from a contribution by Ms. Hazel Presson, aunt of Ginger Giles Jones, Dr. Giles f\$Dr

Academic Achievement Award

Recipient: Jacob Lindley Presented by: Director Karen Spence

The Academic Achievement Award is a book award presented to the graduating fifthyear student who has the highest cumulative MSU grade point average.

AIA Medal of Excellence

Recipient: Jacob Lindley Presented by: Director Karen Spence

Sponsored by the American Institute of Architects, the AIA Medal of Excellence (formerly the Henry Adams Medal) is considered the most important award given to graduating students. It is awarded for "general excellence in architecture" throughout the course of study. The medal is awarded to the most qualified student, and selection is made by the entire faculty.

Other Notable Student Awards, 2022-2023

Aydelott Travel Award

Sara Boyte

Sara received \$20,000 to travel to Paimio, Finland; Leeds, United Kingdom; the Burera District, Rwanda; and Victoria, Australia. Her faculty mentors are Professor Hans Herrmann and Assistant Professor Kate Malaia.

Aydelott Travel Priz0 (es)aAel Priz.@1 Tng (30 (el A)ℤw)20 (adir)10 ((ec)1ℤe(n፼2074)inℓn

NOMAS Diversity Award

Recipient: Soumya Middleton

Chosen by the NOMAS membership, the NOMAS Diversity Award is given to a student who has shown outstanding initiative and leadership in promoting diversity within the school and the larger community.

Tau Sigma Delta Honor Society (TSD)

Chapter President: Eliane Otts

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Kate Malaia & Asst. Professor Duane McLemore

Tau Sigma Delta is the architectural (and allied programs) honor society open to top academic students in design disciplines. Induction does not occur until the student consistently demonstrates high academic standards and is in the third-year.

TSD Initiates:

Creed Broom, Jamie Ferreras, Ceali Finch, Ada Fulgham, Becca Garrick, Jake Herrington, Michael Herndon, Mikayla House, Jacquelin Lee, Camille Mask, Ellen Overstreet, Sapna Patlolla

TSD Fifth-Year Graduates:

Natalie Bowers, Matthew Churchill, Conner Grin, Victoria Harrington, Maddox Hazel, Gizem Karsi, Jacquelin Lee, Jake Lindley, Trent Little, Spurgeon Sanders, Jackie Smith, John Spraberry, Caley Watts, Alexis Windham,

____n2 3ks, the 🏭 0 🖾 232101 Tmksar)21(a r)

TSD First-Year Design Award

Recipient: Peter Fox

The Tau Sigma Delta First-Year Design Award is presented to the first-year design student who has exhibited excellence in design. This is a book award.

TSD Bronze Award

Recipient: Alysia Williams

The Tau Sigma Delta Bronze Medal is presented by the third- and fourth-year student membership of the society to a fifth-year student who, in his/her thesis project, has expanded the students' insight and awareness of architecture.

TSD Faculty Book Award

Recipient: Dr. Christopher Hunter

The TSD Faculty/Sta Book Award is presented by the third- and fourth-year members to the faculty/sta member who has inspired them to excellence.

TSD Charles Calvo Digital Media Award

Recipient: Luke Murray

In fall 2000, Tau Sigma Delta established this book award in memory of a School of Architecture faculty member, Charles Calvo, and his contribution to the field of digital media in architecture. This award goes to a fourth-year student who, like Charles, has exemplified an incredible knowledge and skill in digital media and has continually educated other students in this field. A copy of the book given to the award winner is also given to the library in memory of Charles.

Director's Award

Recipient: Lita Li Presented by: Director Karen Spence This award is presented in recognition of school engagement and commitment to student peers.

First-Year Faculty Book Award

Studio Coordinator: Asst. Professor Silvina Lopez Barrera Recipients: Jo Aguilar and Jay Snodgrass This award is a book selected by the first-year faculty and is presented to a first-year student selected on the basis of design excellence.

Second-Year Faculty Book Award

Studio Coordinator: Asst. Professor John Ross Recipients: China Chandler and Sam Dykes This award is a book selected by the second-year faculty and is presented to a second-year student selected on the basis of design excellence.

Third-Year Faculty Book Award

Studio Coordinator: Assoc. Professor Alexis Gregory Recipients: William Brotherton, Max Denney, and Camille Mask